Aalborg University2018-01-18T13:33:02+01:00

Aalborg University (AAU) was established in 1974 and is mainly located mainly in Aalborg, Denmark with additional campuses in Aalborg, Esbjerg and Copenhagen. By today, Aalborg University is the fifth largest university in Denmark in terms of number of enrolled students. Currently, Aalborg University has approximately 20.506 students and 3.864 employees. Since its establishment in 1974, teaching at AAU has been following problem-based and projectoriented learning engaging students in consistent practical and theoretical challenges.

The Department of Architecture, Design, and Media Technology is a multi-campus department with branches in Aalborg, Copenhagen and Esbjerg. In Aalborg, the department has all its main subjects Architecture and Urban Design, Industrial Design, and Media Technology represented whereas in Copenhagen and Esbjerg it concentrates on Media Technology with cross-over to Architecture and Learning. The department holds 140 researchers and PhD students and participates in a long range of national and international projects. It provides teaching to over 1500 students at the three branches.

The department is unique in the Danish context as it collects disciplines within architecture, design, media and technology under one roof providing the foundation for a powerful new field of knowledge and development of competence within the field of design with a human focus.


Markus Löchtefeld20171218_lho1093.jpg
Walther Jensenmugshot